Quotes by Eloise Jarvis McGraw

"...The queen's mocking laughter cut in. "This is your treasure, Lord Sheftu?"

"Aye. The greatest treasure in Egypt—a maid whose loyalty cannot be bought. Whatever bargain we make, Daughter of the Sun, must include her freedom."

"I'll change to a dragon, then you'll be sorry."

"Aye, you're neither one thing nor yet quite t'other. Pity, but there 'tis."

"You are both daring and unscrupulous, and you think fast. I have been looking for a person with those particular characteristics. Also I noticed you speak Babylonian."

"Blue-Eyed One, never again shall you cover your shoulders. I declare your scars to be medals of gallantry great than any I could bestow, and it is my will that all the Black Land look upon them, and learn the nature of courage."


Books by Eloise Jarvis McGraw

  • The Wizard of Oz
  • 399,543 ratings
  • March 27th 2012 by Aladdin

    (first published March 17th 1900)

  • Heidi
  • 179,287 ratings
  • February 21st 2012 by Aladdin

    (first published 1880)

  • The Moorchild
  • 7,028 ratings
  • April 1st 1998 by Aladdin Paperbacks

    (first published April 1st 1996)

  • Moccasin Trail
  • 3,511 ratings
  • October 7th 1986 by Puffin Books

    (first published 1952)

  • Master Cornhill
  • 1,110 ratings
  • May 5th 1987 by Puffin

    (first published 1973)

  • Greensleeves
  • 983 ratings
  • March 31st 2015 by Skyscape

    (first published June 1st 1968)

  • The Seventeenth Swap
  • 508 ratings
  • September 1st 1987 by Troll Communications

    (first published 1986)

  • Sawdust in His Shoes
  • 193 ratings
  • June 1st 2018 by Plough Publishing House

    (first published June 1950)

Eloise Jarvis McGraw
  • Eloise Jarvis McGraw

  • Date of birth: December 09, 1915
  • Died: November 30, 2000
  • Description: Eloise Jarvis McGraw was an author of children's books. She was awarded the Newbery Honor three times in three different decades, for her novels Moccasin Trail (1952), The Golden Goblet (1962), and The Moorchild (1997). A Really Weird Summer (1977) won an Edgar Award for Best Juvenile Mystery from the Mystery Writers of America. McGraw had a very strong interest in history, and among the many books she wrote for children are Greensleeves, Pharaoh, The Seventeenth Swap, and Mara, Daughter of the Nile.

    McGraw also contributed to the Oz series started by L. Frank Baum, writing with her daughter Lauren Lynn McGraw (Wagner) Merry Go Round in Oz (the last of the Oz books issued by Baum's publisher) and The Forbidden Fountain of Oz, and later writing The Rundelstone of Oz on her own. The actual writing of the books was done entirely by Eloise; Lauren made story contributions significant enough for Eloise to assign her co-authorship credit.

    She lived for many years in Portland, Oregon before dying in late 2000 of "complications of cancer".

    McGraw was married to William Corbin McGraw, who died in 1999. They had two children, Peter and Lauren.