Books by Elliot Aronson

  • The Social Animal

  • 3,375 ratings
  • July 25th 2003 by Worth Publishers

    (first published 1972)

  • When Prophecy Fails

  • 747 ratings
  • January 25th 2009 by Pinter & Martin Ltd

    (first published 1956)

  • Nobody Left to Hate

  • 157 ratings
  • July 1st 2001 by Holt Paperbacks

    (first published April 1st 2000)

  • Sozialpsychologie

  • 9 ratings
  • September 1st 2014 by Pearson Studium

    (first published September 1st 2004)

Elliot Aronson
  • Elliot Aronson

  • Born: The United States.

  • Description: Elliot Aronson (Born January 1932) is listed among the 100 most eminent psychologist of the 20th Century, best known for his Jigsaw Classroom experiments, cognitive dissonance research, and bestselling Social Psychology textbooks. He is the only person in the 120-year history of the American Psychological Association to have won all three of its major awards: For distinguished writing (1973), for distinguished teaching (1980), and for distinguished research (1999). In 2007 he received the William James Award for Distinguished Research from APS.

    Aronson has taught at Harvard University, the University of Minnesota, the University of Texas, and the University of California, Santa Cruz. He is the recipient of many honors. He was chosen by his peers as one of the 100 most influential psychologists of the 20th century, he was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and won the prestigious William James Award from the Association for Psychological Science for his lifetime achievements. He has won distinguished research awards from a variety of professional organizations, including the American Psychological Association, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Society of Experimental Social Psychologists, and others. He also won the Gordon Allport Prize for his work on reducing prejudice. In 1982 he was named "Professor of the Year" by the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education.