Books by Chrystos

  • Not Vanishing

  • 259 ratings
  • December 1st 1988 by Press Gang Publishers

    (first published September 1st 1988)

  • In Her I Am

  • 147 ratings
  • October 1st 1993 by Press Gang Publishers
  • Fire Power

  • 91 ratings
  • October 1st 1995 by Press Gang Publishers

    (first published 1995)

  • Dream On

  • 49 ratings
  • December 1st 1991 by Press Gang Publishers

    (first published April 1991)

  • Fugitive Colors

  • 29 ratings
  • April 1st 1995 by Cleveland State University Poetry Center

    (first published 1995)

  • Chrystos

  • Date of birth: November 07, 1946
  • Born: in San Francisco, California, The United States.

  • Description: Menominee poet Chrystos is a warrior, writer, and arrow in the throat of colonization. Publishing five volumes of poetry, Chrystos is an important voice in the world of literature showing that Native Peoples and Peoples of colour can write, they write well, and they can’t stop from being read and heard.Chyrstos’ poetry is described by Gloria Anzaldua as, “Her words slide into our throats, feed the hungry soul, fill the lost and homeless heart. Her voice binds into wholeness our severed selves with self-esteem. It calls away from the death of invisibility, insists that we be seen and accounted to, no longer banished, no longer vanishing. She leaves her howl inside us.”